Find the AI receptionist that fits your business and your phone bill

Independent comparisons of AI receptionist and answering services for small businesses. Every price comes from the vendor's own pricing page, with a link and the date we checked it. Where a vendor doesn't publish something, we say so.

See the pricing tracker What do missed calls cost me?

Start with your trade

Plumbers

Emergency triage, after-hours calls, and booking while you're under a sink.

Electricians

Safety triage first, then capturing quote requests you can follow up on.

HVAC

Surviving weather-driven call spikes without busy signals or runaway overage.

Roofers

Storm surges, inspection booking, and keeping ad-driven leads from leaking.

Dental

HIPAA and BAAs first, then emergencies, new patients and your PMS.

Law firms

Intake without legal advice, Clio integration, and when a human backup matters.

Prices at a glance

Entry-level list prices, checked October 27, 2026. Billing units differ, so use the estimator for a real comparison.

ServiceFromEntry plan includesTrial
My AI Front Desk$99/mo200 voice minutes/moFree account creation; trial usage depends on plan or offer (see vendor's trial terms)
Rosie$49/mo250 minutes/mo7-day free trial; page says no credit card required to start
Upfirst$24.95/mo30 calls/mo14-day free trial with full plan features
Smith.ai AI Receptionist$0/mo25 calls/mo (Free); 75 calls/mo (Pro)Free plan (25 calls/mo) instead of a timed trial
Goodcall$79/mo100 unique customers/moFree demo agent; you pay when you connect a number
Dialzara$29/mo60 minutes/mo7-day free trial
NextPhone$199/moUnlimited inbound calls7-day free trial
Allo (AI Receptionist add-on)$42/moNot stated for the AI Receptionist3-day free trial
Ruby (live receptionists)Not published50 receptionist minutes/moNot stated

Head-to-head comparisons

Frontdesk vs Rosie

Both bill by the minute and target small businesses. Rosie is cheaper to start and gives you more minutes per dollar. My AI Front Desk bundles chat, texting, a CRM and automations into one $99 plan.

Upfirst vs Smith.ai

Both charge per call rather than per minute. Upfirst is much cheaper per call and includes every feature on every plan. Smith.ai costs more but adds escalation to live receptionists and has a free tier.

Goodcall vs Dialzara

Goodcall bills per unique caller per month with no minute meter. Dialzara bills talk time by the second with published overage. Which is cheaper depends on how long your calls run and how often the same people call back.

Rosie vs Upfirst

Two low-cost options with different billing. Rosie sells minutes and gates booking and transfers behind its $149 plan. Upfirst sells calls and includes everything on its $24.95 plan.

Three things to know before you buy

Billing units aren't comparable

Some services sell minutes, some sell calls, one counts unique callers, one is flat-rate. A "$49" plan can cost more than a "$99" one at your volume.

Entry plans leave things out

Live transfers, calendar booking and Spanish are sometimes reserved for higher tiers. Check that the features you need are on the plan you're pricing.

You still write the rules

The AI follows your instructions. Emergency transfers, safety scripts and "don't promise prices" rules are yours to set. Our trade guides include checklists.